Backstory

25 Jan

Today, I did something I thought I’d never need to do: I created a timeline of my protagonist‘s life. Well, not completely, but it was a start. Why did I do it? To understand her better. I only had half a picture of my girl’s current situation. She was angry, confused, lonely, and upset — and I didn’t know entirely why. I needed to know the story before The Story. Not to inundate readers with it, but for my benefit.

Sometimes the writer needs to get the whole story down in order to give the reader the best part.

4 Responses to “Backstory”

  1. Debra Kristi January 28, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    I completely agree with you. My protagonist has been writing in a journal for two years prior to the start of my book. I discovered things I never knew about her before. It really helped me understand her better. I’ve worked the backstory for other characters as well. It gives them all a much needed depth in my opinion.

  2. Rebel Sowell January 26, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    That’s a good idea. I’ve never done it, but it would come in handy for when I get stuck. I don’t even use an outline. I create the outline as I go. It’s helpful to know how other writers work. Whenever you feel blocked, just try what someone else does and see how it goes. It sure can’t hurt. Thanks!

    • jboissonneault January 28, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

      I used to work with an outline more often. Sometimes I find it helpful, but only as long as I can change it. Otherwise it gets restrictive and kills my creativity! Thanks for reading. :)

Your thoughts go here...

